June 20, 2016

Contact:          Chris Fore, California Coaches Association


FRESNO – The California Coaches Association (CCA) is proud to announce the results of their 59th Annual Awards Night.  Held at the beautiful Picadilly Inn in downtown Fresno, coaches, their families and friends from all up and down the state gathered to celebrate their achievements this past Saturday night.

The mission of the California Coaches Association is to provide a professional organization uniting all coaches in California, dedicated to maintaining the highest possible standards for athletic competition and coaching conditions in California.

Five coaches were inducted in to the Hall of Fame for their tremendous career accomplishments.  Those coaches are: Roger Canepa (Central Catholic High School), Bob Johnson (Mission Viejo High School), Steve Denman (Tehachapi High School), Joe Chappell (Salinas High School), and Dae Lea Aldrich (Mira Costa High School).  Canepa, Johnson and Denman coached football.  Chappell coached basketball, and Aldrich coached volleyball.

There are four perpetual awards given out by CCA each year.  The Jim Brownfield Mentor Award was presented to Jim Underhill (Piner High School).  The Edmund Strelow Media Award went to Zach Ewing of the Bakersfield Californian newspaper.  Sheri Ross of the Southern and CIF State Offices was awarded the Dan Fukushima Lifetime Achievement Award.  The William S. Rockwell Distinguished Service Award, CCA’s highest honor, was presented to Central Coast CIF Commissioner Nancy Lazenby Blaser.

57 coaches were recognized by the CCA for their outstanding efforts during the 2015-16 school year.  The Association also recognized four Athletic Directors, and two officials.

You can find the list of all of the honorees here.  

The 60th Annual Hall of Fame and Coach the Year Banquet will be held in Sacramento on June 17, 2017.


Comments are closed.